Blogs Home

7 Tiers of Disaster Recovery: Protecting Your Business from the Unpredictable

Published on 12 May, 2023

3 min read

Best Practices for your Cloud-Native Disaster Recovery Strategy



Muhammad Abubakkar

Marketing Associate

As a business owner or IT professional, you know that disasters can strike anytime. Whether it's a natural disaster, cyber attack, or human error, the impact on your business can be catastrophic. That's why it's critical to have a disaster recovery plan in place. This article will explore the seven disaster recovery tiers and provide the information you need to protect your business from potential disasters.

What is Disaster Recovery?

Disaster recovery is recovering from an unexpected event that disrupts normal business operations. It is a critical business component and can mean the difference between a quick recovery and complete failure. A disaster can take many forms, including natural disasters such as hurricanes and earthquakes, cyber-attacks, or human error. Regardless of the cause, the impact on your business can be severe, so it's important to have a plan to minimize the result of a disaster.

Tier 1: Backup and Restore

The first tier of disaster recovery is backup and restore, which involves creating regular backups of your data and systems and being able to fix them in the event of a disaster quickly. Backups can be stored on-premises, off-site, or in the cloud and should be tested regularly to ensure they work correctly. Choosing the right backup solution for your business is important, considering factors such as the amount of data you need to back up, your recovery time objectives (RTOs), and your budget.

Tier 2: High Availability

The second tier of disaster recovery is high availability. This tier involves designing your systems to always be available, even in a disaster. And can be achieved through redundant hardware, load balancing, and failover mechanisms. High availability is important for mission-critical systems that cannot tolerate downtime and can help minimize the impact of a disaster on your business.

Tier 3: Disaster Recovery Site

The third tier of disaster recovery is a site with a secondary location where your systems and data can be restored during a disaster. The disaster recovery site can be located on-premises or off-site and should be far enough away from your primary place to minimize the impact of a regional disaster. The necessary infrastructure at the disaster recovery site, including hardware, software, and connectivity, is important to ensure your systems can be quickly restored during a disaster. Choosing the right disaster recovery site is important, considering factors such as geographic location, distance from your primary site, and available resources.

Tier 4: Multi-Site Disaster Recovery

Multi-site disaster recovery is the fourth tier of disaster recovery, which requires establishing multiple disaster recovery sites in different regions or countries to ensure that your systems and data can be restored during a regional disaster. Multi-site disaster recovery provides additional protection and can help ensure business continuity even in a large-scale disaster.

Tier 5: Cloud-Based Disaster Recovery

Cloud-based disaster recovery is the fifth tier which entails utilizing cloud-based services for backing up and restoring data and systems during disasters. Cloud-based disaster recovery offers several benefits, including cost-effectiveness, scalability, and ease of use. Choosing the right cloud-based solution is important, considering security, compliance, and availability factors.

Tier 6: Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS)

The sixth tier of disaster recovery is disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS). This involves outsourcing your disaster recovery to a third-party provider, who will manage and maintain your disaster recovery infrastructure on your behalf. DRaaS offers several benefits, including reduced costs, simplified management, and increased flexibility. Choosing the right DRaaS provider is important, considering factors such as experience, expertise, and service level agreements (SLAs).

Tier 7: Business Continuity

Business continuity is the seventh tier of disaster recovery and involves developing a comprehensive plan that outlines how your business will continue to operate in the event of a disaster. A business continuity plan should include measures to ensure the safety of your employees, the availability of your critical systems and data, and the ability to communicate with your customers and stakeholders. It's important to regularly review and update your business continuity plan to ensure that it remains effective.


Disasters can strike anytime, and the impact on your business can be catastrophic. That's why it's critical to have a comprehensive disaster recovery plan in place. The seven tiers of disaster recovery provide a framework for developing a plan to protect your business from potential disasters. From backup and restore to business continuity, each tier offers a different level of protection, and together they provide a robust defense against catastrophic events. By following these guidelines and working with experienced professionals, you can ensure that your business is well-protected and can recover from any disaster quickly.

Join our newsletter

Sign up for the latest news about Wanclouds.

We care about your data in our privacy policy